Phoenix Disorderly Conduct Defense Attorney
In Phoenix, disorderly conduct charges are often synonymous with "disturbing the peace." While disorderly conduct may be interpreted differently depending on the circumstances, it is a charge that should not be taken lightly. If found guilty, you may face various consequences associated with a criminal record, such as challenges in securing employment, loan approvals, etc.
While the charges may seem insignificant, it is essential to seek the advice of a lawyer if you are charged with disorderly conduct. At Bala Legal Services, we are committed to defending your rights. We undertake a comprehensive evaluation of all aspects of the charges you face and work towards a satisfactory resolution that enables you to go about your daily activities. Contact us today to book a free consultation and learn the legal options for your case.
What is Disorderly Conduct In Arizona?
Section 13-2904 of the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) provides a detailed account of what constitutes disorderly conduct. In Arizona, engaging in the following behaviors is considered disorderly and, as such, prohibited by law:
- Participating in combat, aggressive, or exceedingly disruptive behavior
- Generating excessive or irrational sounds
- Utilizing profane or insulting language or gestures towards anyone in a manner that may elicit an immediate physical reaction
- Interfering with business, lawful assembly, gathering, or parade by any means
- Failing to adhere to a legal directive to disperse given for public safety in the vicinity of an emergency, fire, or danger
- Carelessly managing, revealing, or firing a lethal weapon.
If you are charged with any of these infractions, you may be subject to a class 1 misdemeanor charge, or if the crime includes a lethal weapon or other hazardous objects, a class 6 felony.
The law’s phrasing covers a wide range of activities and can be considered far-reaching. This enables law enforcement personnel to accuse an individual of disorderly conduct for many activities, some of which may not even be criminal. In such cases, a competent Phoenix criminal defense lawyer will scrutinize the unique facts of your case and devise a robust defense to contest the allegations.
Penalties for Disorderly Conduct in Arizona
The consequences of a disorderly conduct accusation in Phoenix differ depending on whether the charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. If the charge is a class 1 misdemeanor offense, the defendant may face the following penalties:
- Class 1 misdemeanor: A conviction for a class 1 misdemeanor offense may result in a maximum of six months imprisonment, a $2,500 fine, and up to three years of probation.
- Class 6 felony: If the charge is a class 6 felony, the accused could be imprisoned for a maximum of one year (two years for aggravated violations) and fined up to $150,000.
Under Arizona law, a judge may downgrade a class 6 felony conviction to a class 1 misdemeanor offense, resulting in the imposition of less severe penalties. Retaining a competent Phoenix disorderly conduct attorney can increase the probability of having the charges reduced or dismissed altogether.