Shoplifting Attorney Serving Tempe, Phoenix & Scottsdale
In Arizona, a shoplifting charge is not something that should be taken lightly. Shoplifting can be charged anywhere from a Class 1 misdemeanor all the way up to a Class 4 felony. The potential penalties you may face from being charged with Shoplifting will depend on the item(s) stolen, the value of the items and if you have any prior convictions.
If you have been charged with shoplifting in Arizona, it is important that you consult with a shoplifting attorney. When working with our law firm, you will have an experienced attorney who is approachable, accommodating and affordable. We offer free consultations to help you determine what your next steps need to be.
Misdemeanor Shoplifting vs Felony Shoplifting in Arizona
Shoplifting in Arizona can be categorized in many different ways. There is not one blanket shoplifting charge that is used. The different classifications of shoplifting have different penalties associated with them and it is important to understand which specific charge you may be facing. The different types of shoplifting charges are:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor: The value of the items that were stolen were less than $1,000.
- Class 6 Felony: The value of the item was between $1,000 and $2,000. You can also be charged with a Class 6 Felony if the item stolen was a firearm.
- Class 5 Felony: When the value of the items stolen was $2,000 or more. There are also two other scenarios where you could be charged with a Class 5 Felony. The second scenario is when a continued criminal episode resulted in obtaining goods valued at $1,500 or more during at least 3 separate events within 90 days. The last scenario is if the shoplifter assisted a gang or syndicate.
- Class 4 Felony: You can be charged with a Class 4 Felony if you used an artifice, instrument, container, device, or other article to assist in the shoplifting event. You can also be charged with a Class 4 Felony if you have two prior shoplifting or theft offenses within the last 5 years.
Penalties for Shoplifting in Arizona
In Arizona, there are different charges and therefore different penalties that come along with shoplifting. Understanding the specific shoplifting charge your or a loved one may be facing is important to understanding what the potential penalties you may be facing if convicted. The penalties for Shoplifting in Arizona are:
- Class 1 Misdemeanor Penalties: Up to 6 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and up to 3 years probation.
- Class 6 Felony Penalties: Possible jail time of 6 to 18 months, up to $150,000 in fines and probation could be ordered for up to 3 years.
- Class 5 Felony Penalties: Possible jail time of 9 months and 2 years, up to $150,000 in fines and probation could be ordered for up to 3 years.
- Class 4 Felony Penalties: Possible jail time of 18 months and 3 years, up to $150,000 in fines and probation could be ordered for up to 3 years.v